6 January, 2002, #2

6 January, 2002, #2

You were only seven when the Dolphins pulled their
Miracle season. Those years of initial cognizance impact
Life: you stayed a fan of the fins, while I wandered. Yet, we
Had those games together. You knew I’d be writing today. How
Else to honor a life so brave, so fun, so hard.

I will paint for you, and sing a song or two;
I’ll plant absurd beats and lettuce, imploring earth
To nourish simple needs. I’ll swing a club with confidence
And actually attempt to read a putt before wailing at it.
Sure enough that adds up to taking life more seriously now.

You’ll be happy to know the drug days are gone, which
May improve my sanity quotient. You were right:
It is great that I found my soulmate Jenny. You
Knew how much her children keep me smiling,
And, how one poem, well written, can unite two souls.

For years I’ve thought your end date would be
August 23rd. Every year, as summer faded into fall, I
Drew a deep breath and figured you were good as gold.
You were good as gold. I was an ego-head to be so confident.
The Christmas cold snap gave you time to rest. Peace Bro.

Copyright, Doug Stuber, 2002. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given, and with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

