On the Knoll

On the Knoll

Goodbye helping hand, goodbye nine iron,
goodbye to the man sitting on a five gallon
bucket, begging for food. There used to be
time to give: time also left town, leaving me
with an attempt at familial monk-hood. You
know, fatherhood as countryside writer.
Goodbye to my tired modes which have been
so much more than a friend. Now time to
push for my own life, my son’s life, my wife’s
life. To have the balls to break the trap that
provided such comfort. Jumping, full blast,
into a life of less. Can this be salvation?

Copyright, Doug Stuber, 2006. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given, and with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “On the Knoll

  1. I appreciate your writing style of condensed prose – it seems connected to what I am attempting (however clumsily) on my blog. You have a gift for layering the personal with the global and packaging it poetically. Inspiring work!

Leave a Reply

